The history of Kozhikode district as an administrative unit begins from January 1957. When the states of the Indian Union were reorganized on linguistic basis on 1st November, 1956, the erstwhile Malabar district was separated from Madras state (Tamil Nadu) and added to the new unilingual state of Kerala. But Malabar district was found to be too unwieldy for administrative purposes. Consequently the state government ordered the formation of three districts with certain changes in the boundaries of some of the taluks. The Kozhikode district thus came into existence on 1st January 1957,originally consisting of five taluks, Viz, Vadakara, Koyilandy, Kozhikode, Eranad & Tirur. With the formation of Malapuram district on 1st june 1969 & Wayandu on 1st November 1980.Kozhikode Rural Police District has been formed on 01/06/1979 bifurcating the Kozhikode Police District Vide GO (MS) No: 59/79 Home dated: 09/04/1979.
    Formally the District Police Office Kozhikode Rural was functioning in an old building at Pudupanam,Vatakara.On 22-08-16 District Police Office was shifted to the adjacent new building. Special units like District Special Branch, DCRB, Narcotic Cell,Crime Branch etc are working in this building.

Last updated on Friday 22nd of April 2022 PM